Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Vale of Nunsbrough

1715 is the date of the Jacobite uprising and the troops camped overnight in the Vale of Nunsbrough, by the river. In 2015 we had a walk on this theme in the Haltwhistle Spring Walking Festival. Today I recreated the walk on my own.

It was another hot day. Temperatures were already over 20 when I set off at 10am. I had quite a few sections in woods, which provided a pleasant cooler atmosphere and gave me respite before the next open and sunny section.

There is an open access area at Nunsbrough Woods, a Woodland Trust wood, and there is a large meadow between the trees. I could see a lot of good meadow plants in profusion, but was thrilled to find yellow rattle. This is an indicator of a good hay meadow. The yellow rattle is saprophytic on grasses and makes the grasses less vigorous. This allows the other meadow flowers to have a chance.

The route was just over 8 miles so I was pleased to manage it.

It is still very hot here at 9pm. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.