KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

It's a bird, it's a....?

I woke up early this morning - before 6:00 am - having slept well last night despite the heat of yesterday. Fortunately it cooled down last night, which it does tend to do here in western Oregon. I stayed outside reading until last light - about 9:00 pm. I had a candle and the kitties and it was lovely just being out in the gorgeous night air with the sounds of birds and frogs (not necessarily in our yard). It was in the mid-70's by the time I went in (24 C). 

I ran the irrigation in the two big gardens this morning since it was forecast to be hot again today - but not nearly as hot as the 92 F (33 C) of yesterday! And tomorrow, almost an inch of rain expected!

When the watering was finished, I was rewarded with a garden full of drippy blip opportunities. I've been trying to get a picture of the seed head of Pulsatilla vulgaris since the blossoms started going by. It was in full bloom on March 16th and this is the bud. And here, in the extra you can see it frozen! You can see why the seed head would be so darned spectacular!

So for some reason this morning, this seed head had just enough moisture and early sun on it, without a lot of background color to make a good portrait. (This is after dozens of shots over weeks mind you!) It's a little more digitally tweaked than I would normally do, but I like it! What do you think it looks like? Quarantine hair? A shaggy bird's head? A creature from the deep??

Be well dear blip mates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.