Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

My old friend

Hello, heron, my old friend
I've come to talk with you again..


Saw this wonderful creature in the park on the way back from a walk with a friend this morning.  I don't think I've seen it since the beginning of winter, so a real treat.  There were noisy dogs, children, a very cold wind and not a lot of sun which maybe why the heron was looking distinctly cross.  But how magnificent!

Actually it was a lovely walk all round, even if I did arrive back freezing and in much need of breakfast.  We had a fantastical conversation with an old boy on a mobility scooter, a real raconteur, who told us the story of his life, then we wandered over the ruins of Winchester Castle (note to self, go back for the wildflowers growing between the stones), and landed up in the High Street where Dave the flower guy is once again selling.  I had no money, but he let me take £10 of geraniums on the understanding I pay him next week.  And on my way back home over the park I met Soldier and his mum again, which was fun.

Since when I've not done a lot except eat, get warm and f*rt about on the computer, listening to Simon & Garfunkel.  Oh joy!

Hope your Saturday's been a good one  xx

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.