Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Peanut Lover

I think this curve-billed thrasher is nuts over nuts.  There's lots of other things to chose from on the Bird House Café menu, but these guys are experts at pulling out the peanuts.

This afternoon I attached a branch to one of my Shepherd's hooks with zip ties to act as another perch for my friends. I'm not sure how well it will hold because I don't really know how to use zip ties.  It took all of ten minutes for them to find it and hang out there.  It's close to the café so it will be a good place for the birds to wait their turn.   I will definitely have to stop working in the yard between 10:00-3:00.  yesterday was a midday head dunk and today it was a cold shower. 

All in all, a quiet Friday and I don't expect the weekend to be any different.  That wildfire might be 35 miles away but it's better that I stay mostly inside as it gets larger.  The smoke isn't heavy but noticeable enough if you have asthma or other breathing problems.  Many more evacuations today and a wider "set" zone (as in: ready, set, GO!")

Interesting but useless fact:
Continental plates drift as fast as fingernails grow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.