100th Corona diary entry / entering New Normal

Weeds on the sidewalk

So we have entered to new normal / nueva normalidad. My day has been like the previous ones. Only seen my husband and the dogs. Talked to few neighbors on the streets, from distance. Went for a walk, by myself. Rest of the day spent reading. Oh and took a nap.

A bird flew into our house this morning. Poor thing was so scared and couldn't find it's way out even with all the windows and doors open. First we tried to get it out showing a broom (not touching it) but it always flew the opposite way. I let it rest between tries. The poor thing was just sitting there with it's beak open. Looking like it was breathing heavily. Then it flew upstairs. 

When it flew on top of the window (there's a small ledge inside), I took a bucket and a cover and gently took the bird to the bucket and then moved the bucket outside the window. It sat on the railing for a while and then it flew away.

Nelson was the only one of the dogs who followed the bird with eyes. But as he was still waiting for his breakfast that was more important to him and he didn't make any noises. Thank goodness as it was before 7 am and I didn't want to wake up the neighborhood.

I have to say that even with that little bird and I knew it was more scared than I, I still had some Hitchcockian moments when it flew towards me with wings flapping wide open, I run away I yelled for help.

I don't understand why, but I did just that. Can anyone explain? I'm 1000 times bigger than that poor bird and it still managed to scare my away. I'm not afraid of birds when I see them. What happens to me in this situation? It must be a common phenomenon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.