A Closed Book

I popped out this morning to get my Sunday blurry bike shot - see extra. Then, turning round I noticed that the bookshop door was open but there were no books in the window. Sticking my nose round the door Richard and Roxanna were doing the final tasks before locking the door for good.

A victim of increased online book buying it had been struggling and of course the lockdown was the last straw. Even the shop sign has come down. The end of an era. The bookshop has been here for as long as I have been in Woodford with a series of charming owners  including Aliscotia and Longshadow then more recently Saba helped by her mum, Roxanna. I won't say anything about the one dubious tenant in between all these lovely owners. 

Richard (second extra) assured me that it wasn't going to be a vape shop or nail bar but who knows. And what other options are there left nowadays.  Are we going to start seeing these retail units converted to residential?

It's a long shot and a bit tenuous but as the shop will now be empty for who knows how long, and as the shelves are bare, I thought I would take a punt and link it to Marlieske's Derelict Sunday challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.