Capital adventures

By marchmont

Glasgow

An adventure today. An early start and off in a bus, masked of course.  I had to reinstall my Edinburgh bus app and try to remember how to us my card.  Been over 7 months since I was on an Edinburgh bus.  The bus wasn't busy.  The trains to Langside were even quieter, nobody near me.  Queen Street Station is nearly finished, an impressive new frontage. 

It was great to see Y again and we decided it was fine enough to sit in the garden.  There were big clouds overhead at times but apart from about 3 spots they kept moving.

Unfortunately the 'girls' afternoon' didn't turn out as planned. I have to confess I did feel slightly short changed.  First her 2 granddaughters had to be there as their parents were looking at a house, the 45 minutes extended to about 2 hours once their mum returned.  In some ways it was great to see them but a 3 and a 9 year old who have been used to having Y's undivided attention did not make an allowance for being being there. And I was also very nervous because I was there.  She was worried I had the virus. She is having a difficult time, very anxious. 

No longer had they gone (and the fizz opened) that G arrived with Y's mum down from Inverurie.  It  had been a quicker journey than anticipated, so lunch (v late lunch) was a quatre, not a deux. Again good to see G and R but not the same as a good heart to heart which I think we both need.  

But after much food (first meal I've had made for me since 18 March) and much vino and an illegal hug it was time to get the taxi back to Queen Street and slightly busier train and bus home.  I was feeling quite judgemental about the couple across the aisle who sat, masks round their necks, eating Doritos and drinking Tennants most of the way to Edinburgh. 

Watched a bit more tv but decided to give Molly and evening free of drugs. i think we were both glad of that. 

Despite the disappointment it was good to have a bit more normality in my life.

Day 93.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.