Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

An amazing piece of happenstance

I had to go to Newcastle today to take the car for its 2 year service before I go into isolation for my upcoming operation. Julie and I had a lovely slow wander by the quayside and across the Millennium Bridge to the Sage.

There were quite a lot of people, but it was easy to stay well away from them. We chatted and put the world to rights and so on, as we usually do.

Back at the Tyne Bridge, we parted and Julie went to do some shopping in the centre of town. I wandered across the Swing Bridge and then onto the High Level Bridge from the south side. There was time for photography and just looking at the wonderful Newcastle skyline.

A text from the garage said that new front brake linings were required, so I had more time on my hands to return there. As I walked past a hairdresser's shop, I caught sight of a black and white photography book in the window. I craned my head to see it before, Clare, the hairdresser, appeared.

It is the new book by Tish Murtha, who documented life in the west end of Newcastle. This one is about Juvenile Jazz Bands. Clare was in the band from a very young age until she was 19. She had to give up because of her chance to be a hairdresser and has always worked near to where she grew up. One of her customers bought the book for her.

We had a great chat and she was happy for me to make a photo with her.

Tish's views on the jazz bands caused controversy and Clare told me she did not agree with what Tish said about them.

Fascinating stuff and you can read more via the link.

PLUS
The Corbridge Chamber  Music Festival started tonight. We have heard the first concert and about to settle down for the second. You can find it on YouTube and catch up if you want to hear the amazing Beethoven's Diabelli Variations played by Benjamin Frith. Dame Fanny Waterman was listening along with the rest of us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.