Edinburgh bus crashes into New Town building

My day got off to a bit of a false start when I turned up at my dental practice for a check-up appointment that the staff had forgotten to cancel. How annoying, I thought. However, when I came across the blipped scene about 15 minutes later, I knew that I had little to complain about.

Nobody was hurt when this Lothian bus skidded off the wet cobbles of South East Circus Place and onto the pavement, but what a shock it must have been for the families on the ground floor and basement flats of this building. (In case anyone is wondering, there are no bus routes along our cobbled street. My yarden is safe.)

I was heading into town on the recommendation of sallymair. Sally told us all on Friday that there are bargains to be had at Laura Ashley. I ended up visiting the shop twice this morning: once for a recce, then a second time with Mr hazelh in tow to buy wallpaper. The amount that we spent on eight rolls of wallpaper to redecorate our spare bedroom was less than we paid for a single roll of rabbits for our sitting room in 2014! If anyone else is thinking of popping into town to check the remaining stock in the closing down sale, I'd recommend rooting through the bedlinen for kingsize and single beds.

This afternoon I have worked on a long blog post that I started a couple of weeks ago. I might finish it tomorrow. We'll see.

Exercise today: walking (16,089 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.