Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Lysimachia Ciliata Firecracker

The name of this flower was unknown to me until today. It grows vigorously in our garden. The yellow flowers are pretty and they are set off by brown leaves.

I've been at home preparing the house for when I go into hospital. It's worse than going on holiday! The house has to be ready for carers to come and stay.

When I escaped into the garden in the early evening, I liked the light on the yellow flowers in my blip. It was very, very windy and I was happy to retreat from the large trees. I suspect a few branches will be down tonight. Now it is pouring too.

A surprise hamper of delicious foods arrived this afternoon. Thank you Maureen. I will restrain myself until after my operation (apart from the popcorn which I've already consumed.......)!

All the photos have been processed for Maureen's book. Phew!

I may leave the spare bed with its bedding to be made up by S after I have gone....

I enjoyed the British Academy broadcast of David Abulafia talking about his book The Boundless Sea. Sadly I missed the beginning. It was fascinating.

The news of the terrible explosion in Beirut came as I was watching the news. How dreadful in a country where people are suffering already.

There was also an account of the situation in Portland. I was interested to hear the reporters point of view about division amongst the protestors.

So much to take in and process.

At a more mundane level:

Arth:  Two more sleeps then the operation. I'm very nervous.
Aggie:  Don't worry. It won't help. Remember that one of our friends had the same operation by the same surgeon and she says it's much easier to get over than the knee replacement. 
Arth: I think she is just humouring me. I'm not convinced.
Aggie: Come on Arth, you can face this. Remember how well you did last time.
Arth: Hmm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.