Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Into The Pot 'o Gold

I couldn't resist tossing in that little pot of gold.  This was a full rainbow but even with my widest lens couldn't fit it in. My townhome is the half on the right. Again, no rain, though I'm holding out hope for overnight.  We're under an extreme heat warning until Sun 16 Aug at 8 pm due to the combo of heat and humidity.  I head to the mountains on the 16th.

I've had a very busy day.  I started with breakfast at the deli.  Then I had to return to the audiologist because my hearing aids died.  While I wait for them to return from the factory he's going to loan me a pair.  It would be a travesty if I couldn't hear the birds, creek and crickets next week.  I got home in time for my telehealth meeting with the nephrologist. While I was talking to her I saw the breaking news (TV was on mute) about Biden's choice of Sen. Kamala Harris as his running mate.  I was able to be the first one to tell the doc. Great choice. Btw, my kidneys are stable with an eGFR of 33 (33% function).
I finished that appointment with 20 minutes to spare before my therapy session, also on the computer.

This evening I had a chat with my mother's oldest friend in New Jersey.  They call me their adopted daughter. I felt a weird need to reach out to them and sure enough, Jim had torn ligaments in his arm and Cuci was exhausted and ready to pull her hair out.  At 86, it may be time for her to retire.  I followed that with a call to a woman I know from the Singles club.  We obviously haven't been able to meet and I hadn't spoken to her for awhile.

I also called Neighbor Across the Street to check on her.  She recovered from Covid-19, then suffered a TIA.  I've been reading a lot of the emerging research and they're finding that this virus doesn't just attack organs like the lung, heart and kidneys.  There's more and more evidence that it's causing neurological problems.

Anyone out there in line for the Russian vaccine? Nyet?

The next edition of the best voices of my lifetime (I could say the purest) is Barbra Streisand. Listen to her classic, Somewhere.

This might be my favorite song of all time.  Maria sang it to Tony in West Side Story, which happens to be my favorite musical.  Someday I'll tell the story about my incredible lack of set building skills when this was our high school musical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.