Sanctuary

My title today is another song related one. There are various songs about Sanctuary but I'll reference the one by The Cult, 'She Sells Sanctuary'
My blip comes from a walk around the village this morning when I called in at the Garden of Rest, just behind St John's Church. These old walls belong to a chapel said to be a sanctuary chapel founded about 1350. There's a noticeboard outside the church which says that sanctuary seekers used to be able to go to the Bishop's Palace, just up the road a bit. Instead of moving on after two days they seemed to like it there and stayed but they made so much noise carousing that the Bishop told his monks to build a new chapel further away. It also says it may not be true but it's a good story.

Thanks for all your super entries. There's a bonus for me because some of you have introduced me to songs I didn't know before. The most popular title was 'Here Comes the Sun', that lovely George Harrison song from The Beatles Abbey Road album. Also scoring high was 'You Are my Sunshine', a song most of us probably learned in junior school. My favourite song was one by Aussie band Midnight Oil who never shied away from political subjects. This one's called 'Gadigal Land' about the indigenous Australians who lived on the coastal land that is now known as Sydney. Thanks for that, SeriousFrolic, you can follow the musical link on her blip which is in the list below and I recommend that you do.


My hearts go this week to the following, picked purely because they appealed to me in some way.

DigitalDave Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me

trisharooni These Boots are Made for Walking

PaulShelley Fixing a Hole

Marlieske Green River

AH14 Feelin' Hot Hot Hot


Hon Menches this week go to

SeriousFrolic Gadigal Land

V1k1 The Water is Wide

WharfedaleBex On the Road Again

gillyh Little Boxes

SueMiddleton Somewhere Over the Rainbow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.