A Day for Celebration

It’s the 75th anniversary of VJ Day which marked the end of WW11. I was in my first year of primary school and remembered the relief of my mother and the rest of the family that things were over at last and my father could come home.

A few months later I brought home from school a personal letter from King George VI given to all school pupils telling us we had shared in the hardships and dangers of war and should feel proud to belong to a country which was capable of such supreme effort. I’m not sure I was old enough to totally take in the enormity of what the country had endured, but I certainly remember the collective fear of being invaded by the Germans.

Today I waited at a vantage point near the Dower House to see the fly past of the Red Arrows over Edinburgh, but it never happened - the cloud cover was too low. They went to Prestwick instead.

In the afternoon it was lovely to see the Glasgow family in the flesh for the first time in 6months. Glasgow daughter has a birthday in a fortnight but is busy with visitors then, so we had a celebratory cake on the patio today.
Nina regaled us with tales of her first day at senior school in the east end of Glasgow where things went from bad to worse with police taking away one child with a knife, an ambulance taking away the victim, and the fire alarm going off when the dinner lady set the toaster on fire.
At the end of 6 years she should be able to write a book.......if she survives.

My extra makes me wonder what makes some people tick

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.