Sunday's painting...

... Couldn't get to sleep last night, so was reading. Cat couldn't sleep either. So as I cannot get the temperature down in my bedroom to below 24 C despite fans etc. (it has been like this all week, and looks like being all next week too, it would be so much cooler to live in a house not a bungalow because it is cooler to sleep downstairs), so I went outside with the half intention of sleeping under my thatched swing.

But I forgot I still had my cochlear speech processor on. A noise startled me badly.It felt next to me, so I got back inside and locked the door as quickly as possible. I never wear the cochlear speech processor at night in the garden when I go out to watch stars etc. It never occurred to me to do that.

So, that was me badly spooked. I still couldn't sleep. So I decided I might as well do my daily painting in Procreate. It started as a patch of birch trees and a path either side. But it was boring, and so I decided to combine brushstrokes (thus making custom brushstrokes) and experimenting. But I ended up with most of the experiments going over them with the chalk effect brushstroke.

The birch trees, consequently morphed into one large tree, a sort of hollow oak tree, with experimenting with these different combined brushstrokes. Also earlier in the day, I had received a box of my eBay bids on postcards, and there was one old one in the box of the Major Oak, as I remembered in my childhood in the 50's where I used to climb inside with my dog Sandy and stay there for hours. There were more trees next to the Major Oak then, as this old postcard showed. Nowadays you have to pay money to see the Major Oak (I think), and walk around on a tarmac path in conveyor belt fashion, so far away from the Major Oak (the tree you have paid to see), that you need binoculars to see it from the path...

So these are my processes and thoughts as I was painting this. It took 3 hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.