Sunset from Waddington

Over to The Folks today. I can't normally go on Mondays as Jae works and isn't available to fetch me home. But my Dad had made an appointment with the dementia care nurse for a visit and wanted me there so he said he would bring me home today.

It went OK. Not great, but OK. She obviously didn't buy my mum's assertions that she is fit as she ever was, could do anything, and is actually "perfect" in every way. She could tell that my Dad is struggling to cope with everything, but because he wants a quiet life he will continue to go along with (almost) everything Mother wants, and not have the recommended home-care assistance. My Mum told the nurse (frequently!) that she does all the housework, cooking and cleaning but my Dad did muster up the courage to contradict her as she actually does nothing at all - he, Estelle-next-door and I do everything! So other than recommending that my mum's medication be adjusted so that it helps to keep her calmer, there is not a lot to be done.

There was one slightly edgy moment. A thing my Mum has always done is suss out a person's weakness or potential area of vulnerability and draw attention to it, bigging herself up in the process. Before the dementia she would be subtle enough about it to be able to say that it was "All in your head, you're imagining it, I didn't mean it like that..Gaslighting in other words I suppose! Now, she is not so subtle!

The nurse is a larger lady, and when she asked my mum how her appetite was, she said "Oh, I eat my meals, but only things I should eat. I don't want a great big arse and a load of fat on ME!" There was what seemed like a long silence after that... 

I did a few other jobs before my Dad brought me back home, then had time for a coffee before heading up to Tesco. By the time everything was finally done I was still without a Blip.Brian suggested a drive to Waddington in the hope that there may be a decent sunset. It could have been better but the view from up there is good anyway.

Once home, the ever-temperamental computer refused to accept my photos! I ended yp having to do it via the laptop. I have the K-VAD editor on here, which I'm not as keen on as the usual Picasa, but it will have to suffice tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.