Flower Friday ...

.... our first monarch butterfly.

We got a very late start with our monarch butterfly nursery this year.  Mainly because we didn't actually see many adult monarchs around in the yard.  And every time I did see one laying eggs on the milkweed I would go back and check for them only to find there were no eggs.  

This is our first monarch cat to pupate and emerge into this beautiful female butterfly.  We released her this afternoon in the memory of a dear blipper lost in June.  I wasn't asked by her family to release her in A's honor so I will not say the name.  We have one more chrysalis that should hatch in the next day or two ... we hope.  

Over the next few weeks we should have more butterflies as we now have several cats in the enclosures.  If there is anyone you would like a monarch released in the memory of ... please don't hesitate to ask.  I would be honored.  

Backblipped: August 24

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.