Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Reminder of the Day

I'm not sure I can remember the last time I had an interview for a job with a new employer.  I'd been thinking about getting a part time job for some time, I feel I still want to contribute to helping people and use the skills and experience I built up over 40 years in work.  

I saw a temporary job working for the County Council as a rights of way officer, investigating issues on the public path network across Staffordshire.  It really took my fancy.   People will know I love walking and a lot of the role is checking on problems along footpaths and bye-ways, liaising with land managers and resolving issues through negotiation.  During the interview it was explained that the pandemic has caused an explosion in complaints as local people have started to use paths as one of the few options for exercise during lockdown.  There is now a backlog of reports to be investigated so the Council was seeking to appoint someone for six months to help clear up as many complaints as possible.  I should hear in the next couple of days.

Anyway L had a late appointment near Little Aston Golf Club and I went with her, taking a walk while she was in the meeting.  The way post was on the edge of one of the fairways where the footpath crossed and will be a reminder of the day's events.  

It also reminded me of my first family G.P. , a Dr Sangster, who very kindly took me for a round on the course back in the 1970s.  That despite hiding under his desk at the surgery on one occasion to try and avoid having an injection (I was very young at the time!).  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.