Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

80!

Oh my, this is a strange pandemic birthday.   But a very nice day!  The balloons are from the neighbor on the other “book end’ of this condo..it’s her birthday too!…only many less!   Friend Mike stopped by with some lovely nature books and a chat outside and offered to take this picture.   I guess it’s a tradition..a selfie on my birthday….Looking back, 3 of the last 4 years were IN a boat ON the water.  We’re usually at the island and often by ourselves.   So all feels upside down….I have not been in my rowing boat or on a ferry all summer.   Not sure I’m too happy with 80 either, but grateful for those healthy 80 years and the adventures, laughs and loves they brought…it seems a world away from 79, somehow.  I don’t expect to have a 90th.   We had a walk in the neighborhood and a lesson, (3 at a time, masks on, inside)  on using our new thermostat. (how many get a heat pump for their 80th birthday?)    My friend R will be bringing me 80 cheese balls!   There was chocolate cake from another neighbor. 
Since today was the first day of so called “school” and parents were working, the family will gather for birthday cake tomorrow (there's another perk for staying at home!)  …I can hardly wait to hear their first impressions of this online school….and what Nik has decided to do,   But first H and I will have a trip in the morning to the ART MUSEUM!  Excitement!   Seattle Art museum opened today to members only for these next 4 days…50 people an hour…they ran out of tickets in 4 hours, but I’m happy we were able to snag one to see the 2 exhibits that were barely up before it closed in March. (will report tomorrow) 

And soon, we’ll order a take-out meal and have a nice birthday dinner, the 2 of us, and maybe a martini for the occasion, on the roof deck.  My only request was to NOT COOK today.   I’m a very lucky OLD LADY!  

Extra:  Here's what H did when I wasn't looking... had to fix this bookcase in my studio so the heat vent was more open...  thanks a lot....this is PART of what came off of them..  I know I know...here's my opportunity to clean it out.   I'll try.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.