Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Faded Glory

I've been seeing quite a few of these beautiful brush-footed butterflies in the garden for the last few weeks.  They are part of the second generation of the Red-Spotted Admirals and are pretty much done with their jobs at this point. Amazingly, adults only live 6-14 days.  This one still has some lovely color although its wings are worn.  I think it looks particularly nice against the buddleia.  This generation will leave eggs on host plants and next year's admirals will overwinter as early instar larva, hidden in a curled up leaf called a hibernaculum.  (New word for me!)  I find the life cycles of insects so interesting.


We are having our friends from the farm over for socially distance wine and cheese tonight.  Very much looking forward to it as we always enjoy their company very much.  Like us, they've mainly been isolating so we feel very comfortable having them over.  Besides, the weather is perfect for sitting on the patio.


I think all the adult male hummingbirds took off a couple of days ago, right behind the big storm that moved through.  All I am seeing now are juveniles, and not even that many.  I always feel a little sad this time of year as the summer birds are either gone or getting ready to leave.  The first of the winter birds haven't arrived yet, but soon...


Had a nice long chat with my parents this morning.  They've been getting out walking every day which keeps them in good health and good spirits.  Dad always sends me pictures of where they are walking via text, which I love.


I don't think I'll take the kayak out today as I need to do a little cleaning and run to the store for cheese.  Tomorrow...


Stay safe, be kind, try to be patient.  


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.