Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Our friend Gwen

I had a phone call to say that my physio appointment was being postponed because the physio was off sick. I managed to negotiate a call from another physio because I wanted some advice about Arth. As it happens, it was the physio who treated me after my knee replacement, so that was good.

The upshot is that my progress is almost too good and I have to ease back on the walks and the amount of unsupported exercise. "Just use one stick in the house", she suggested. I have to give the operation site more time to settle.

Gwen came over from Morpeth this afternoon. We did a shorter walk than I did yesterday. I applied ice afterwards and all seems well. We had a good chat and tried to put the walking world to rights. How can we have everyone in our walking group out again when the English government says only 6 on the walk. The Ramblers say up to 30 but with risk assessments done, etc. We go out as a bunch of friends on Wednesdays so what should we do?

It's my view that it will be best for several small groups to go separately and not run any risks. Most of us would be described as OAPs or even elderly if our names were in the press. 

Small groups going out will require some coordination of course. 

There may well be a solution.

Arth: Aggie, I'm thinking of going on strike. Did you hear what the physio said? I've been expected to do more than my pay grade.
Aggie: Your are silly. If you stop walking and exercising, you will stiffen up and have terrible problems. Marj knows she has to take things more slowly. Did you notice how she went one step at a time when going up as well as going down this afternoon?
Arth: I did and it didn't hurt at all, so that was good. I just think I need a bit more consideration and respect around here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.