Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness

I wonder how many of us learned that poem at school?

It was not misty today, but it rained a lot. After lunch, there was a break in the rain but the winds remained frisky. I walked from home to the bridge at Chollerford and back. This is the furthest I have walked since the operation, all of 1.4 miles, but I was exhausted afterwards!

Mum was exhausted as the day went on because she had set about thanking all the people who sent birthday cards. She has agreed to pace herself tomorrow. (Like mother like daughter I'm afraid!)

I watched a talk about the Jewish museum in the Venice ghetto this afternoon. People watching were from all over the world. It was a disappointing presentation, but I admired the curator who is Italian and who spoke in English. Her delivery was very protracted and she tended to pronounce the end letters of all words with deliberation, so it was hard to follow. She showed pictures but did not always tell us what was on screen.

I have been to the ghetto during my last visit to Venice and it was good to see it again.

The Tynedale Photo Group had not one but two Zoom meetings today. The first was our regular coffee and chat meeting. Somehow the subject went on to narrow boat holidays and we were regaled with hilarious tales of near disaster and embarrassment. 

This evening was the first meeting of the club for the new season, online of course. Leo Palmer was the speaker and both his images and the talk were first rate. 

On my walk today I saw loads of ripe blackberries, elder trees dripping with fruit and a great crop of haws. Arth had to be treated with a big ice pack, followed by a hot pad and analgesia, but we had a good walk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.