THE PINK PALACE

Hubby and I went to Morecambe today to visit Mum.   He did a few jobs for her and we had a nice chat and some lunch.  

We then came home via the A6 to avoid the roadworks on the A560. There were some on the A6 where we were slightly re-directed but the traffic was quite light.

We didn't stop anywhere so I grabbed this shot from the car when we were almost home.

It is Cartmel Grange Care Home and known locally as The Pink Palace.  It has a pretty good reputation as a care home I understand.  It was originally set up to provide care for soldiers of WWI who were affiliated members of the Working Men's Club and Institute Union. ... It then became known as the 'miners home' where injured members of the clubs could recuperate for two 'bob' a week.

I have just heard that Dame Diana Rigg has aged at the age of 82.  She was a heroine of mine growing up as I always wanted to be like Emma Peel, except I'm short and now dumpy and Diane was tall, slim and elegant but hey we can all have dreams.  She would have hated that as she always hated to talk about The Avengers, I think largely because she didn't want to be remembered just for that and she was indeed a fine actress (note I use the term Actress NOT Actor, which is a pet hate of mine!!!).

Anyway RIP Dame Diana Rigg - thank you xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.