Capital adventures

By marchmont

Western sky

I had a terrible night, well till about 2 am. My ankles and wrists throbbed unbearably with the nettle stings and it took paracetamol, ibuprofen, a shower, abortive biofreeze and aloe vera cream. Miracle oil and then finally na cup of cocoa to get me off to sleep. However, I did sleep till 7.30, no Shipping Forecast this morning.

The rest of the day passed as outside it oscillated between heavy showers and bright sunshine. There was cat wrangling, College stuff, a lot of Choir prep for next week's new term and some tidying up. No sewing was fine but a quiz was compiled and some fairy lights put up.

The get together tonight was short and more subdued. I think we may be running out of things to discuss. There was also an argument about the rules. I get annoyed when some folk go all sanctimonious about rule breakers esp when they then demonstrate a) a lack of understanding of the rules and b) confirmation that they are also choosing to break them when they decide to. I've said it before but everyone I know has broken the rules at some point as they've made an informed/calculated assessment of the risk as it affects them and made the appropriate decision. Fine, but you then lose the right to criticise or condemn others for doing exactly the same. Rant over.

I've managed to book a swim in Tuesday morning so another reason to leave the house next week and that's 3 swims booked over 2 days. I followed up that excitement with another episode of le flic francais.

I don't watch the FM's briefings but I do think the BBC should continue to broadcast them although I think this constant going on about 'the elderly' who need these because otherwise they will be confused and also because they don't have access to the internet is rubbish. Actually, maybe they should stop broadcasting it as all this going on about 'cases' and deaths is not good for your mental health.

It was a dramatic sky tonight. Life is much less dramatic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.