Oh did it Rain!!!

The thunder storms were rampant last night and finally roused us at 4:00 am with a resounding crack! And it poured! Actually it was only about a half inch all told, but after such a dry, smoky spell it felt fabulous! I didn't actually dance in the rain because of the thunderstorms, but I did go out to the garden this morning and just breathed in the cool, moist (non-smoky) air. Heaven! The Air Quality is now 165 and dropping by the hour. Hallelujah!

The garden loved the rain. I noticed that many of my plants have leaves that are turning yellow, like all the geraniums. I can only assume that all of those smoky, dark days convinced the plants that winter had arrived. We'll see what happens when it clears up a bit.

Meanwhile, the Rudbeckia fulgidas, (Black Eyed Susans) although not quite in full bloom anymore, are still going strong and livening up the messy garden. I'm hoping to get in the garden tomorrow - the weather looks like it will cooperate - and start resurrecting the disaster the the wind and smoke left. 

Happy, happy weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.