ST MARY'S GREEN - VILLAGE SHOPS

It seems to have rained all night and its certainly rained all day.  I needed to collect my repeat prescription and get some food shopping so I had to brave the weather.   When I went out there were huge puddles everywhere and the rain was lashing down. The shops weren't busy. 

My blip shot shows St Marys Green - the main shopping area in my village.  You can see my two favourite shops - Tesco and Herons.  This shot is for the Wide Wednesday challenge - " Built Environment (man made)"   Best I could do today.  St Marys Green was built in 1985.  It has retail units, office space and also a few flats on the upper floors. Thanks to Steveng  for hosting the challenge.

Before the Green was built there were some small shops and nice old stone built houses along that stretch of land but they were nearer to the road with fields behind.  There was Taylors the butcher, a drapers, an electrical shop, a stand alone old fashioned post office, a wet fish shop and Lily Butlers dress shop. The butchers relocated into St Marys Green - and is still there. I guess in 1985 the village had a growing population and needed more shops rather than a few little shops and old houses.

Musical link VILLAGE  - by Paul Weller

At 5pm I had a Zoom meeting with my Slimming World Consultant Gemma.  She has a few virtual members like me who can't get to groups in person and just recently there are members who are having to self isolate so she decided to start up the Zoom meetings again in addition to her normal group.  I was surprised - and so was Gemma  - when only 2 members logged in .... me and Julia.  The others were a no show.  However the 3 of us had a good meeting and Julia and I are motivated to do well next week.


7.45pm - I settled down to listen to the match on the radio.  Newcastle were playing in the League Cup -  away against Morecambe.  What a match it was.  Newcastle won 7 - 0.  I know the opposition was poor and they went down to 10 men after having a player sent off ..... but 7 nil is still a very good result.  So Newcastle progress to the next round of the Cup.  On paper they have an easy match in the next round ( hope I'm not tempting fate here ) They will face Newport County next week.

More good news.  I have another great nephew.  A little boy born in Perth Australia to my niece Sharon and her husband Kyle.  A brother for Mason - whose 3rd birthday was today.  We are still waiting to hear what the new addition is going to be called.  Its the 6th grandchild for my brother and his wife. They were all booked up to travel to Australia in the next week or so to see the baby but due to Covid that trip has had to be put on hold.

Steps today - 6,875

CORONA CLASSIC - Gerald Finzi : Eclogue for Piano and Strings

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.