carliewired

By carliewired

My 730th Blip

Bits of coloured glass
sparkle in the morning sun.
Can we do the same?

~ carliewired

I'm going for the low-hanging fruit this morning. I've come to the weekend with not a lot of energy left for a photo outing. It's a shame to be indoors with such a glorious day waiting outside. It is what it is. 

I brought home my fused glass pieces when I returned home from Arizona in March. This one represents to me my 8th lovely winter enjoying the desert there with my painting pals. I made this last February from the scrap bin of an artist/friend who works in glass. She cut the clear disc and let me play with all her broken pieces which I laid on top of the clear disc. When done she fused it in her kiln. I had challenged myself to use only the broken or cast off pieces available to create a design. We are challenged in life to do the same. We make something of what we are given. Sometimes we even sparkle. 

I had a thought to use this piece for my Christmas card this year. I am finding it very difficult to photograph glass so it shows its reflective qualities properly. I may need a light pad or a consult with a professional photographer I know. Wish me luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.