carliewired

By carliewired

In the Grasslands

Up the hill to a 
favourite drive in grasslands
to enjoy Sunday.

~ carliewired

The lure of a sunny day was too great to ignore. I took one of my most favourite routes through the grasslands. It's only 15 minutes from my home and a place I've loved to paint. 

The ponds are a very green with algae but that doesn't stop the ducks from enjoying them. Mallards were in full force this morning. 

This area is in the reserve held by the Kamloops Indian Band. Cattle were evident. They've come down from the higher elevations as it's getting cool at night. 

I found a patch of snowberries on my way down the hill. They are important food for birds and animals. 

The Interior Grasslands has a unique landscape and biodiversity. It called me here when I was still a kid in school. It is a huge attraction for me. I've lived here for 46 years and it still holds surprises for me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.