Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Blowing in the wind

It was very, very windy again today. I wish the weather would settle. It was cold too.

This feather was hanging on to the sedum and refusing to move. There were remarkably few windfalls too, but I did pick apples from one tree (only those in reach).

I spent most of the day at an online symposium on Islands. It was based in North Uist. Some of the modern art installations were a bit esoteric for me, but I enjoyed the photography and the discussions about how to bring arts to the islands. There was a fascinating presentation about small islands off Australia where criminals were kept and often killed. These islands look idyllic now.

I had two very short walks but had to don winter trousers, a woolly hat and gloves. Hmm.

The other Marjorie phoned and we had a long, complicated conversation. I do miss meeting with her.

Tonight Mum and I watched The Gillespie Brothers singing on a cold hill top in Northumberland as the sun went down. They lasted about 30 minutes before the connection failed. It was a brave try, but I think their music would have sounded better indoors! I do hope they had a good tent with them.

After that we watched the second episode of All Creatures Great and Small. It's undemanding viewing and rounded off our Saturday nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.