LANG JACK

Another day when I felt really weary.  Didn't do much this morning.  Had a nap in the afternoon.  But I did stir myself to walk down to the village as I needed a blip shot.  (Needing a blip is often my motivation for getting out of the house )

The Wide Wednesday theme is Tall. There isn't really anything really tall around here such as a mountain, a skyscraper or a tall tower so I have blipped a tall statue which stands in my village. Thanks to Steveng for hosting.

This statue commemorates John English - The Tyneside Samson. He was known locally as " Lang Jack " because he was 6' 4" tall. He was born in 1800 and was a man of enormous strength. He came to live in my village in the 1830's. He was a stonemason who worked on various projects in the area including Newcastle Gaol and the old Scotswood Bridge. He built his own cottage on the outskirts of the  village dragging the stones from a quarry a mile away.  He and his wife had 13 children. He was very famous in the area and in 1854 an 18 foot statue was erected outside his cottage. Unfortunately Jack attempted to do things for which even his marvellous strength was unequal and he destroyed his once splendid constitution. He died in 1860 of consumption.  Jack's cottage was later destroyed by fire and in 1976 the statue was moved to the centre of the village where it stands today.

Musical link HAPPY JACK - by The Who

I was late going out to the village and I just got back in time to listen to the match on the radio. 5.30pm kick off. Newcastle were playing a Cup game away at Newport County.  Bad start - Newcastle were one nil down after 5 mins.  Newport were the better team for most of the match but with only 3 mins to go my man Shelvey scored the equaliser.  There was a bit of added injury time but no more goals.  Then it was straight into a penalty shoot out.  Newcastle missed one penalty - but Newport missed two.  So Newcastle won 5 - 4 on penalties.  So they have scraped through to the Quarter Finals.  Lucky - again.

My new great nephew now has a name.  Hunter.  He is doing well.

Steps today - 6,402

CORONA CLASSIC - Adrian Johnston: music from the film My Boy Jack (2007)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.