Flower Friday

The weather has been decidedly iffy today, strong winds, heavy rain, & then this afternoon a smattering of blue sky.
My day did'nt go as planned, the penstemon cuttings have'nt been potted, nor the hydrangea. The chutney ingredients lingering on the worktop.
I paid my allotment dues, I don't agree with the council's explanation, but I don't want to give up either of my half plots as I've worked hard to make them productive. Basically if I don't like it there is a waiting list for plots.
Next stop Mum's with a few bits of shopping, & yet another phone call to the Post Office re reimbursement for lack of broadband provided at the initial set up. After being connected to customer services the first time, going through all the security questions twice, once automated, once by staff I was cut off. I rang again, went through the same security palaver, got connected to a member of staff actually in an office. Apparently the first person I spoke to might have been working from home. That does'nt bode well when they are working for broadband provider. After explaining yet again the rigmarole I'd been through she looked up the account to find their track record. A goodwill gesture of £15 deducted from Mum's first bill was a result, AT LAST. Next, I noticed the Outreach engineer that had spent 3hours at Mum's about a month back had left his card saying if there were any problems to give him a call, so I gave Aaron a call. He was'nt nearby to pop in, but talked me through the cables etc. Me laying prone as the Outreach power point is on the skirting board. Not ideal! After about 10 minutes ..... Eureka! Mum's phone extension in the kitchen is working again. Unfortunately during the process I managed to break the ceramic pot holding a very sad looking Xmas cactus. I've just got my self another job.
Back home, hubby has toothache ...I make lunch,  I make phone calls, no appointments available, speak to the pharmacy, speak to another pharmacy, speak to a pharmacist, speak to the first pharmacy to check if they have the product suggested by the pharmacist in the last pharmacy. At this point I was tempted to open a can of cider .... A phone call from Mum, she can't find her debit card. We talk through the last time she used it, she went and checked her jacket pocket, then her handbag, which she does'nt normally take. Found it!
Time to make chutney ................ I can't find my chutney & preserve recipe book. I give up.
Flower Friday - I went upstairs and snapped one of my watercolours, hanging in the bedroom. The Morning Glory was growing up the wall at the side of the property we rented in Thailand. Painting with watercolours on Saa paper is a bit of a challenge but I was happy with the result.

Malaysian chicken with lemongrass, coconut, & Uchiki Kuri squash for dinner tonight.  I cheated, I served it with Uncle Ben's 2 minute rice.  There are banners on both sides of the packet 'Stand Against Hunger for UK Families', 'Together we're helping food banks provide 2 million meals', '14 million people in the UK live in poverty'. The figures are staggering, & hard to believe. How do you define poverty?

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.