Dad with the other daughter!

Today has been quite full on, beginning with a 5.30am alarm. I was already awake, and had been for most of the night. Lots of reasons, but I was worried about the journey today. Dad and I were up dressed and ready to eventually leave by 6.45. My mini took us up the A10 and round the M25 to Harefield Hospital. The traffic was very busy, as I had anticipated, it was rush hour after all. So a baptism of fire for my first ever drive on the M25. A road I have managed to avoid driving on my whole life.

Dad was quite calm, and we arrived with 5 minutes to spare at just before 8. It was horrible handing him over, him hobbling off with his stick in hand, but he squeezed my hand as he went, and I said you'll be fine, dad. I know he gets anxious, but he's the toughest 90...almost 91 year old I know!! I knew he was in good hands. His pacemaker was 13 years old, and they only last 10. So it needed to be changed. This is his 3rd pacemaker. They do it under a local anaesthetic so not a pleasant process.

While he was in there, I walked up and down the Harefield village high street, eventually getting a coffee and going back to sit in the car to read the paper, do some puzzles, and wait for a call from the Drs. The nursing staff were great at keeping me updated, and thankfully the removal and replacement went smoothly. He was ready to be collected at 1.30 and heading home via a much clearer M25. Home at 2.30 and logged on to do half a day of work, where basically my phone didn't stop ringing! I finished at 5.40 feeling pretty shattered.

Manda arrived with fish and chips for tea which was lovely, and so she took this pic of me and dad, to show how well he is looking. He really is amazing..

I definitely need an early night. Fingers crossed for a good night sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.