Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Parlor Games

Will you walk into my parlour?" said a spider to a fly;
'Tis the prettiest little parlour that ever you did spy.
The way into my parlour is up a winding stair,
And I have many pretty things to shew when you are there."
"Oh no, no!" said the little fly, "to ask me is in vain,
For who goes up your winding stair can ne'er come down again  - Mary  Howitt, 1829


The story today ended better for the fly, who was clearly just a bit too big to become breakfast.  To give you some size perspective, this is our largest syrphid fly, measuring in at about 1/2 inch/1 cm.  The spider is a flower crab spider, a cunning hunter.  


Pine siskins and purple finches still descending to the feeders in noisy little flocks.  Saw one of them go after a white-breasted nuthatch this morning, trying to keep it off the feeder. I was quietly cheering when the nuthatch stood his ground.  


Good chat with my parents this morning.  We are all so tired of Covid and the constant need to be on alert.  And worn out from all the political rhetoric, too.  


We are headed for some nice weather this week, so looking forward to getting out for some walks and some paddling.  I need to clear my head.


You know the drill ... safe, sane, kind, loving...


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.