Accidents Do Happen

Two "accidents" occurred today.

The first one happened as I was serving scrambled eggs and ham, straight from the pan. Half to me and half to Pat.

As I served myself there was a loud crack. Bang! I looked at Pat’s plate and it had snapped in two.

Putting the serving on another plate, we both checked the broken plate to see if any shards were missing. No one wants a shard of plate for breakfast.

It was a completely clean break. After the two parts had been sitting for an hour or so, the stresses in the plate had been relieved and a gap on one side had opened up by several millimetres.

Pat thought that the Corian plate was probably 60 years old. It had belonged to her parents.

The second accident occurred when the contents of a pot of double cream fell onto the rug which is the subject of today’s Blipfoto after I had cleaned it.

Cleaning consisted of taking the rug outside and hosing it down with cold water. It was draped over a sawhorse to drip dry in the autumn air.

After that it was finally dried by laying it on the stone kitchen floor and allowing the gentle heat from the floor to do its work.

I then finished it off with a stiff hand brush.

I then asked Pat where this rug had come from and she admitted she had retrieved it from a builders skip. Further questioning elicited that the skip was actually on a project of ours.

Apparently the client had instructed the builder to get rid of all the carpets. Pat had previously remarked about the Persian Rugs, but he was obviously not an enthusiast. Apparently buried in the detritus of the skip were another dozen or so.

Removing items in skips or to be collected by the Council are often taken by passersby as a form of recycling and up cycling.

Quite the thing I am advised in Edinburgh. And why not!

The extra was taken by "Herr Doktor"who sent me a photo showing us where he had hung the framed print of the Bell Rock Lighthouse in his very full house. This was part of his 80th birthday present.

Pat and I think it will do.

The size of the original jpeg file is 180Mbs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.