Interlopers?

Not according to our bird book, which regards kuaka (the Bar-Tailed Godwit) as a common migrant, often seen in areas such as Snells Beach where the water is shallow and calm, and wading birds can prosper.

Yes; according to the two gulls who, just after I took this photograph without spooking the kuaka, flew at them (my picture shows about two thirds of the total group) and chased them off the foreshore. The gulls' two companions then sauntered onto this area; clearly it is desirable real estate.

When I turned to the strategic and policy section of the agenda this morning, I was delighted to find that unlike those meetings where there are a number of large policy matters to discuss, there were no more than three matters, and all briefer than usual. So by midday I had completed that reading and with only one section left to read I went for a midday run to celebrate. Which is when I saw these kuaka.

Back to Auckland this evening, and an early flight to Wellington tomorrow for the two day meeting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.