Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The garden is listening!

This year the jelly ear fungus has shown itself repeatedly on the elder trees in our garden. It's nearly always too dark when I try to photograph it. Today was an example. Interestingly, the raw version was very noisy and it was hard to reduce the noise. This blip is the jpg version. I like the light shining through the ears.

Yesterday my nose started streaming. Must be an allergy. It went on and I felt as though I had a cold. Today I've been under the weather and have spent part of the time in bed. I have no classic Covid-19 symptoms and hope it stays that way. I have been so careful about contacts too. Sigh.

By chance I found The Times Radio on the iPad and listened to some of the interviews on John Pienaar's show. I remember him from his time at the BBC. His interviewing was lively and well informed. I will return to listen again.

Of course the news is dominated with the American election. I think that our political system needs reforming, but theirs even more so. Why vote for a personality as president, when the majority of senators and representatives may be from a different party? That is the problem that President Obama had in pushing through any legislation.

So now we wait and hope that the result will be conclusive enough to avoid months spent in the law courts.

In other news, I picked lovely autumn rasps today. As I was picking I heard a whoosh and two large apples fell near me. The windfalls are gorgeous but I need a hard hat when I'm near the tree!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.