carliewired

By carliewired

My Favourite Drive

I woke to sunshine
so I could not waste this day.
I love to explore!

~ carliewired

There are some jobs I should be doing today, but the lure of sunshine and blue sky was just too great. 

I've taken my favourite backroad which begins and ends in the city limits. It takes me up and out of the city in a very short time. Most of it is gravel, not pavement. I am thankful to have my pickup as parts can be muddy or pot-holed. I rarely encounter anyone else travelling on it when I'm there. I've stopped and painted on the roadside. I usually see some wildlife. Today, it was white-tailed deer. They tippy-toed down into a ravine and disappeared. 

I love these grasslands. They are now farms and ranches for the most part. Today there was a skim of ice on the ponds which will melt as the day warms. No wild fowl could be seen. I think they must have taken note when we got snow and decided to get going. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.