carliewired

By carliewired

Along the Thompson River

I love a sunny
day out with my camera.
Too lovely to miss!

~ carliewired

I drove over to the south shore within city limits this afternoon. What a glorious day for blue sky and sunshine! However, the wind was gusty and darn right cold. It was the first day I've worn a toque for a very long time. 

The middle photo is of my favourite mountains, Mt. Paul and Mt. Peter. This is a very different angle than how I view them from my deck. It is difficult to separate the two in this photo. Mt. Paul is the smaller but fills up the view here. The photo has Rabbit Island across it. This uninhabited island in the Thompson River, is owned by Domtar, the pulp mill nearby. 

I drove along Mission Flats Road getting views along the Thompson River. I found white-tailed deer browsing near the road. People were out walking the sandbars and river bank. One gets a view of the foreshore adjoining properties. The river is very low right now so there's lots of sandbars to see. 

I was quite taken by the two locomotive engines coupled together on the Canadian Pacific Railway line. One is Canadian. One is American. Recently, Canadian Pacific bought two American railway lines. We now see American cars and engines on our lines. Also, when in the US, we see our cars included there. The US is our largest trading partner. We are intricately linked and have been for many years. This photo really speaks to this. We are tied to our American neighbours. We share a 5,000+ mile long undefended border. Our relationship has often been described as "a mouse in bed with an elephant". No surprise that Canadians have been very concerned about the US election. As I was hopping in and out of the pickup taking these photos, I was also listening to our national radio, CBC, conducting a cross-Canada open line programme which was discussing Canadians opinions on the election. Quite frankly, I was stunned to hear some who supported Trump. Seriously!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.