Country Mouse

That's me. Not a town mouse. Not saying there is anything wrong with you town mice, but as I drove home and the surroundings I drove through opened up further into nice clear green open spaces, I knew I was feeling more at home.

We started the day with an abrupt awakening. The doorbell at 8.50 with our first visit from the new carers. They were very efficient, and came in like a whirlwind and did what they needed to, helping dad wash and eat his breakfast.

We all had a bad night as dad was quite restless and up and down about every hour. Consequently we were not up early, but i got up when the carers arrived and gathered a few bits to take back home for my weekend. I felt guilty leaving mum on her own for the first time in over 2 weeks, but i knew Manda would be there by 2, and the carers again at lunch and tea time. More adjustments needed, but once we are used to it, I'm sure it will be a huge benefit to everyone.

I left at 10.15 and got a cup of tea at McDonalds drive through at 5 ways roundabout, and a toilet stop at Tesco Brandon!! Well, it is a 3 hour drive! Arrived home at just after 1.30pm. Just as Jon arrived home on his bike from a morning in Norwich inspecting trees. A big hug later and I had unloaded my car. After a sit down (with Ralph - he hasn't left my side) and some lunch I went into the garden and did some tidying. I heard the forecast is a wet weekend and I had loads I wanted to do out there. Some deadheading and picking up leaves. And a sit down in the french quarter, where I took this picture. Then a quick cycle to the allotment where the usual 2 culprits had escaped, but darted back through the hole they had made, when they saw me. Minnie was the only one still inside their lovely big run, and that's because she only has one leg!. Chickens can be so ungrateful!

A quick catch up with Manda to see how things are in Hoddesdon. Eventful is one word for it.

I've had a lovely hot bath, and now chatting though some ideas for 'hut STUFF' which has been hampered by my not being here. Also Mollie has had problems with my sewing machine, so I'm definitely going to buy a new one as soon as some of the mid price ones come in stock!

A film now....if I can stay awake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.