carliewired

By carliewired

Almost Done!

Mother and Child who
will be a gift for a friend.
I hope she likes it!

~ carliewired

I didn't even get out of my pajamas today. It looked so depressingly grey and wet this morning, I just decided to keep my head down and keep on sewing. I've had to have the lights on all day so I could see properly.

I have this little quilt top sewn together. It needs batting, a backing, some quilting on the front and then binding. I would like to have this in the mail to my friend in New Zealand next week. If it doesn't get there for Christmas it will be a bit of a let down. 

 Sandie and I have never met. We've been pen pals for years,  remembering Christmas and birthdays with letters/email in between. She is the most amazing quilter, retired nurse, wife, mother of 3 sons and grandmother to several. I still have some hope that I will get to New Zealand one day to share a cup of tea with her. 

Her last gift to me was this beautiful Cathedral Window pincushion. It is handmade and I do treasure it. 

I looked up from my sewing machine about 4 PM to see that the sky had changed over my mountains quite dramatically. Mt. Peter was draped with a shawl of cloud and blue sky has appeared around the edges of the valley. There was even a faint shaft of a rainbow above the mountains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.