Grandpapa and the shadows

It's been a beautiful sunny day and I have taken at least 50 photographs of views, flowers, trees, birds. I'm not keen on any of them. The shadow being cast by the old grandfather clock caught my eye so here it is.

The clock belonged to my dad's family though whether it came from the Edinburgh or the Glasgow branch I can't say. It came to me as the eldest grandchild after my dad died. I'm sorry to say that grandpapa isn't working. I've had him repaired in the past but it's difficult to find someone who can do this now. I really ought to get him fixed. His chime has a lovely deep tone though I don't know that my next door neighbours would enjoy it.

As was the fashion both sets of my grandparents had grandfather clocks. They lived next door to each other and each could hear the other's clock chiming away - presumably more or less in unison but probably a minute or two out. Very old fashioned these days.

It's felt like a proper autumn day. No frost but the temperature in the potting shed was 2.6 degrees this morning so chilly. Lovely in the sun but cold when it went in. Up the Gowan Hill I could clearly see all the way east to the Pentlands and all the way west to Ben Lomond. My walk took me back through town so I stopped for a flat white sitting outside. I was quite well wrapped up and I didn't feel cold. The shops and cafes are all preparing to close from tomorrow for three weeks.

It's growing dark now but I'm going to put my boots on for a last stroll. This lovely crisp weather is giving way to more rain and higher temperatures again and I want to enjoy walking in the dry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.