Samuel Smiles

I managed a quick pre-work walk this morning.  It was breezy  but mild, so a nice to get out before starting work.  My day was busy and I had barely a minute to myself.  TT shoved some soup in front of me at lunchtime,  but I didn’t stop properly till the end of the day.  Too many calls, and unexpected and urgent piece of work which I was landed with and too much nonsense to try and sort out.  I did have to keep putting the light on today as the weather seemed quite changeable, and wet and wild at times.  BB had rugby after school.  They are now using the 3G football pitches, so while he was a bit mucky when he came home, it was nothing compared to the mud he has brought home recently.
I went out for a wee wander in the dark to get my daily steps and noticed a local hostelry is lit up for Christmas even though it is closed.  I guess they will be re-opening again next week, as long as we move into tier 2.
I only took one photo today, on my pre-work walk, and this is it.  I’ve walked by this plaque many times, but today was the first time I have googled Samuel Smiles to find out more about the man behind the plaque.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.