Opperman Motocart

Or rather, a dinky toy version. There is a good reason for me blipping this today - a small toy I found in mum’s glass cabinet. I’ll tell you later.

My day began with an early walk in the woods with Isabel and Kathi. Good to have my walking boots with me this week. Then at work by 9.

Carers in 4 times, nurse in 3 times plus a physiotherapist and an occupational therapist. I managed to work through most of the toing and froing although didn’t have lunch until 2 as I didn’t realise the time. Mid morning I introduced the team to this small dinky toy. (we have a weekly challenge, this week was find 5 green things - then meet for 15 minutes as a break from work to share) It is special because my dad worked for the company S E Opperman, in Borehamwood, and he did the working drawings for the original vehicle, some time in the 1940’s after the war. Later this evening, I showed it to dad, and he was able to give me the information as I have described. Interesting that he recalls this part of his life, although he couldn’t remember the year.

Finished work at gone 5.30 and once the carers and nurse had done their final visits, I sat down for dinner. Have had a quick chat to Jon as his dad was taken ill yesterday, and as with all hospitals, Addenbrookes isn’t allowing anyone in to visit. He was operated on last night quite late, and is now stable and recovering, which is good news. Just a worry when no one is allowed to see him. More news tomorrow I hope.

Now I am going to make some birthday cards. I’ve given up with the sewing and Manda’s machine has gone back to her. I must satisfy myself with cards, jewellery making and knitting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.