Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The eyes have it

This is Oscar. Compared to how he was when he came to us, he has made a lot of progress. He will now sit on my knee for up to 2 minutes at a time and purrs loudly when I stroke him. He likes kisses on his head.

The rest of the time, he remains a cautious cat who is easily spooked by the slightest sound. Here he is lying to one side of the settee in a  narrow gap between the settee and the wall. He often looks as though he has been in a fight, but it's just his face. I love his eyes.

I woke far too early, probably a bit apprehensive about my orthopaedic appointment. The surgeon is happy with the surgery and the xrays look great. Arth was having a bad day today and was very sore after the drive to Newcastle. I have to return next week for a scan to see what is causing the soft tissue swellings. In the meantime, I have to rub Arth with diclofenac gel. I have been taking it by mouth so will have to stop.

We'll see.

I slept this afternoon, but woke in time to have a wonderful phone call with the other Marjorie (via Zoom). She is one of the most interesting people I know and she had us in stitches with her stories today.

We watched Only Connect (very hard I thought) and University Challenge (a good game) before settling down for the Final of Bake Off.

It was very tense and I was thrilled when Peter was crowned the winner for 2020. What a talented young man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.