Farewell Tom and Emily

Our neighbours Tom and Emily are moving to Fife. When I saw the size of their removal van this morning, I thought that it would make a great blip. At first I planned to photograph it from the kerbside, but when I saw the shadows of the trees against the white paint from the other side of the road, I knew that this would make a better shot. Then I persuaded Tom to pose - et voilà!

I worked today, mainly on assembling some additional information for a case study (for a particular purpose - academics will know the reason...)

This afternoon we had some news on grant applications. The bid that I submitted on July 30th was unsuccessful, but this information did not come as a surprise - there had been 3000 applications for the single deadline! The good news is the winning of two PhD studentship grants for my immediate colleagues. One is conditional on a couple of small changes, but these are easily implemented. I put a lot of effort into giving feedback on the draft applications so I am really pleased that this has paid off.

Exercise today: 5k run.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.