The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Horns Road housing (again)

When I was a little girl, I had a dolls house. Imagine my surprise to see that I could find it again on the web! See here. (I never played with the dolls, just rearranged the furniture and painted the removable front from time to time. I don't remember it ever having a roof; must have got lost or broken when I was tiny).

Today I set out again to capture some more houses on Horns Road, near where I live. These are on the street side, unlike those in yesterday's blip of infill housing in Horns Road. I take these shots on the way to my part time work, about 10 am, when the street is quiet. We are experiencing a run of all-day subzero temperatures, but the brickwork is still brightly coloured, even if the sky's not up to much. On CleanSteve's 1828 map of the area, there is no housing shown on Horns Road, but a cart track leads from Trinity Church, which was then on the eastern edge of Stroud, to Horns farm, which once had a dairy. I blipped its old milk float here.


So, these houses are Victorian, as are most if not all of the properties I have blipped this so far. The houses on the front of Horns Road look more roomy than the ones in the infill terrace behind (see yesterdays' shot). These ones are semi-detached, but the general flavour of the road is unbroken redbrick terraces, excepting the properties at either end.
This one is near the pub, which is also our local, the Crown and Sceptre, and the small park and play area known as Daisybank, which has delighted so many of my nieces and nephews.

From here it's a short walk to our house, or the allotments on Spider Lane, or the vast Stroud cemetery, or the path leading down to the open hill and field area known as the Weyhouse, so named because of the house that once stood there. Some people also call it the Heavens, after the valley, which is named after a house on the other side. In ploughing terms, the 'haven' is the place where the ox-drawn plough would turn around at the end of the row. So, probably the name is a corruption of 'havens'. I don't mind which way round it is: I am happy to live so close to the Heavens!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.