Please Don’t Fall While I am Walking Past

Just looking at these scaffolders standing working on a narrow plank of wood stretched between two steel poles and nothing solid between them and the ground gives me goosebumps. The other labourers working nearby on the refurbishment of the old ERI are even higher on scaffolding round the top of the central clock tower but there are probably more planks to stand on. I wonder if they ever get vertigo.

I have walked about a lot today and enjoyed not a minute of it. It’s one of those dank December days when everything is sodden. The fallen leaves are a mulch on the paths and the grass outside feels like a sponge to walk on. Everything seems to drip with despondency in the half light of a winter’s day.

My mind seems to have soaked up the atmosphere and the thought of all the Christmas preparations appears overly daunting. The cards are written, but the lists of what remains to be done are endless. Because I am by special request entertaining outside on Christmas Day, I had the brilliant idea of ditching the hot water bottles and hiring a patio heater. Unfortunately outside catering with a heater seems to be in vogue this year, so I am waiting for a phone call to see if there is one available. I am keeping my hottie ready in case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.