The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Time after Time

I was too busy yesterday to even remember to take pics. It rained all day and I was bustling around catching up with things. Finished writing my Christmas cards. Tidied the living room, which also doubles as the card stock room. Even assembled the artificial tree for the first time, even though the instructions were of the type with diagrams and hardly any words.

Today: work. We made Christingles (https://www.childrenssociety.org.uk/how-you-can-help/fundraise-and-events/christingle)
that seemed strangely like models of coronavirus. Tomorrow the school is hosting a Christingle event by Zoom. Hmmm, 3-year-olds and Zoom don't always match.

After work I met Dave at the train station. Helped him choose a present for his granddaughter at the toy shop. We both bought presents at the sweet shop. Visited the bookshop. Dave disliked the steep high street and did not want to do much shopping because he already had things to carry. He has become terribly old and unsteady on his feet. We tried to get some food at the new Five Valleys Centre stalls, but they had already shut up shop. Ended up in a coffee shop which said on the door that it closed at six, but were thrown out long before that. We went back to the station and waited for Dave's train. He kept asking me what we would do on 22nd (next week) if our county enters tier 3, I said there was no point in making contingency plans until we know what's happening. That's one of the differences between us: he wants to plan everything minutely. I keep saying that this year is different. I ended up saying that I could only go to his house on 22nd if we kept the window open.

"Why? Won't we be cold?" he asked. "Anyway, you're my support bubble" .

How to explain that, even though I am his support bubble, I still want to be cautious?

Then I went home and decorated the sitting room and the tree. It looks very festive now. Just what I need at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.