An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

I'm with stupid!

Way back at the start of lockdown my pal Peter's (aka blipster Sleepyhead) mum E asked me if I could make Christmas cards for her to give to some special friends, with the designs based on my Wee Chookie Birdies.  I was delighted to be asked and of course said yes.

Fast forward to September and I thought I better get the finger out and actually start working on them.  We had a chat about a theme and Peter very helpfully came up with the Twelve Days of Christmas.  That gave me something to focus my thoughts on and over the next few weeks, after a couple of false starts, the cards started to emerge (All 12 in extras)

I have to say, I had a right giggle doing them and as each one was finished (they were created randomly, not in numerical order) I photographed it and sent it to E for approval and we had a giggle together :-))  I was quite sad (although relieved I had completed the brief) when I photographed the last one and sent her a copy.  I felt even bigger relief when I posted the originals and she messaged me to say she'd received them!  

Of course she insisted on paying me but after the year she's had I insisted more strongly that they were my Christmas gift to her.  Of course she wouldn't let it lie and a few days before Christmas the postie Santa brought a gift from her that I kept to open on Christmas Day.

Well it's only a gorgeous bottle of Nostalgin from the Isle of Cumbrae Distillers, which I was delighted to learn is owned and made by an all-female distilling team :-))

I had planned to keep it to sample on Hogmanay but as we planned a G&T aperitif this evening, I couldn't see past it.

OMG, it is delicious!  I think you can see from my blip how much we enjoyed it!  

Thank you so much E!  What a beautiful and very tasty gift!  It's shot into my top 5 favourite gins :-))

In other news, today would have been my Gran and Grandpa's 82nd Wedding Anniversary .  They were a match made in heaven and I feel privileged to have had such a close relationship with both of them.  I miss them every day.

P.S. The arrow in the photo is unintentional.  It's created by David' frame landing comically in front of the window frame :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.