Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

What an auspicious day!

We spend all morning preparing ourselves for the big adventure. Mum has not left the house for over a year. Warm trousers were found and warm shoes to fit. Hat, scarf and gloves were recovered from a drawer. A fleecy blanket was used to keep her legs warm.

We managed with the wheelchair and into the car. We were far too early and sat waiting until it was nearer the appointment time. We had been told not to arrive too soon.

The primary care waiting area at Hexham Hospital had been organised very carefully for the process. As I expected, every version of wheelchair, walker, Zimmer, stick was there. The oldest members of our society all had masks, but not all could wear them appropriately. (How I wish I could have photographed the scene.) One or two had masks over mouths but not noses. One man had his mask over his nose and not his mouth!

Then you have to add in the high percentage of hearing aids in the room and the difficulty the deaf have when everyone is wearing a mask. The Menzies did not respond because they expected to hear the Scottish pronunciation of their name.

I think that a lot of people had come early and they were dealt with in order of arrival. Ask a group of over 80s to come on time and they will arrive only 30 minutes early instead of their usual one hour!!

We had to wait about half an hour, but then Mum was in and the process went smoothly. She asked the lovely nurse if I could have mine (sole carer and asthma). The practice manager was approached. There had been a few "no shows" so I had mine too.

On our return home, the front door was wide open, as I had left it. (Duh!)

A new member of our family was waiting patiently to be unwrapped. (See extra.) He is Hector, the HaltyBear and will no doubt come with me to the next Walking Festival and on other walks too. Gwen offered to knit him for me and I was very glad to accept. She thinks he needs a coat, so I may have to get out my needles too. (I have put his backpack on his front so you can see it. When walking, he will have it on his back of course.)

What a wonderful day. There is light at the end of the tunnel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.