Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

An icy morning

First I must thank you all for your kind comments yesterday and for putting the photo of Mum's vaccination on the Popular pages.

Before I left home for my walk this morning, I emptied the bird bath and topped up the water. These wonderful icicles were around the edges. I rushed inside for my camera.

I took the car to Heavenfield (avoiding the steep climb from Acomb) and then walked to Fallowfield Farm, took the field paths to Codlaw Dene, then passed by the Riding Stables (and the resident, noisy guinea fowl) and back over the fields to Heavenfield. It's about 3.7 miles. It was very icy on parts of the tarmac road and still quite muddy in parts of the fields.

The sun shone. I met a few other walkers, including Sharon and Wilf who I know. It was a pleasure to be out.

This afternoon I watched Margaret Soraya answering photo queries on her Creative Haven page. 

Together we watched last night's Christmas University Challenge. The best bit of the show is when Jeremey introduces the eight eminent contestants. It's then embarrassing when they do so badly. In one show a contestant wanted to answer cuckoo twice for garden birds. Doh! My main gripe is that they are allowed to spend so much time discussing answers and the game becomes boring. Rant over. (You see, it's not only Ann with Trixie who can rant!!)

We also watched Only Connect Special which was much more fun.

My extras are a backlit clump of soft rush on Fallowfield Fell and a photographer at Heavenfield. I wanted to shout "Behind You" because St Oswald's church is indeed behind him, but I refrained. I was wearing a warm hat with a woolly sheep's head on it, so he probably already thought I was quite odd.
No comments required thank you!

I have deliberately not mentioned other matters. The Covid epidemic is racing ahead and out of hand. Boris Johnson wants us to know what  a brilliant deal we have made with the European Union. 
Thankfully the Oxford vaccine has been approved. I hope it will be administered as quickly as the flu vaccine was in our village hall  this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.